Turbine - Blue Light City CD

Read the review of this CD on Home Grown Music.net

Working closely with producer John Davis, who recorded The Black Keys' Grammy winning song Tighten Up off their recent album, Brothers, Turbine puts forth an album that guitarist Jeremy Hilliard describes as, "By far, the best our music has ever been presented."

Blue Light City is laced with subtle intricacies that listeners might glance over without even noticing. The music is dotted with odd time signatures, unorthodox structures, and innovative applications to the instruments. Yet, what makes Blue Light City such a stellar listen is despite the nearly endless complexities in the music, the album barrels along in nonstop fun. The songs are catchier than ever without jeopardizing the band's musical training and respect for sophistication.

Turbine has quickly gained a devoted audience who have come to expect the unexpected. Chosen by Relix Magazine as "Artists on the Verge", they can scratch like a DJ with their harmonicas, turn an electric guitar into a silver fiddle, and sing three-part harmonies over wild, high-energy sci-fi rock soundscapes.

Hailing from New York City, Turbine has graced the stage at almost every major festival across the country including Bonnaroo, Wakarusa, 10K Lakes, Gathering of the Vibes, and Telluride Bluegrass just to name a few. They have also been fortunate enough to perform with many influential bands including the Del McCoury Band, the Benevento-Russo Duo, and moe. With Blue Light City, the band hopes to take the next step and reach that level of notoriety for themselves.

Track List
1) War of 9161 (The Pledge) listen
2) No Explanation listen
3) Members Only listen
4) Eddy the Sea listen
5) Special of the Day listen
6) Just Like These Wheels listen
7) Behind These Walls listen
8) Teleport listen
9) Blue Light City listen
10) Set Me Free listen

Release date 07.05.2011