The Black Keys - Delta Kream CD


The record celebrates the band's roots, featuring eleven Mississippi hill country blues standards that they have loved since they were teenagers, before they were a band, including songs by R. L. Burnside and Junior Kimbrough, among others.  Dan Auerbach and Patrick Carney recorded Delta Kream at Auerbach's Easy Eye Sound studio in Nashville; they were joined by musicians Kenny Brown and Eric Deaton, long-time members of the bands of blues legends including R. L. Burnside and Junior Kimbrough. The album takes its name from William Eggleston's iconic Mississippi photograph that is on its cover.
Auerbach says of the album, "We made this record to honor the Mississippi hill country blues tradition that influenced us starting out. These songs are still as important to us today as they were the first day Pat and I started playing together and picked up our instruments. It was a very inspiring session with Pat and me along with Kenny Brown and Eric Deaton in a circle, playing these songs. It felt so natural."
Carney concurs, "The session was planned only days in advance and nothing was rehearsed. We recorded the entire album in about ten hours, over two afternoons, at the end of the 'Let's Rock' tour." 

The music from northern Mississippi, which came to life in juke joints, has long left an imprint on the band's music, from their cover of R.L. Burnsides' "Busted" and Junior Kimbrough's "Do The Romp" on their debut album, The Big Come Up; to their subsequent signing to Fat Possum Records, home to many of their musical heroes; and to their EP of Junior Kimbrough covers, Chulahoma.

Crawling Kingsnake (John Lee Hooker / Bernard Besman)

Louise (Fred McDowell)

Poor Boy a Long Way From Home (Robert Lee Burnside)

Stay All Night (David Kimbrough, Jr.)

Going Down South (Robert Lee Burnside)

Coal Black Mattie (Ranie Burnette)

Do the Romp (David Kimbrough, Jr.)

Sad Days, Lonely Nights (David Kimbrough, Jr.)

Walk with Me (David Kimbrough, Jr.)

Mellow Peaches (Joseph Lee Williams)

Come on and Go with Me (David Kimbrough, Jr.)

Release date 05.14.2021