Dan Hicks & His Hot Licks - Greatest Licks: I Feel Like Singin' CD


2017 collection. Dan Hicks was an American treasure. Since the early 1960's, Hicks deftly blended elements of swing, jazz, folk and country music to create a truly unique sound. His lyrics range from the simply sublime to the sublimely ridiculous, all presented with his uniquely skewed and inscrutable touch. Dan's irresistible sense of rhythm, hip lyrical styling, laid back vocalizing, and infamous on-stage wit lasted well through his final recordings with us at Surfdog Records. So, in celebration of his life and legacy, we pay tribute to Dan with this album (marking the one-year anniversary of his passing), humbled and proud that we had him in the Surfdog family. Here's to the music, the laughs, and the wild ride... these are Dan's greatest licks!

Track List:

  1. Strike It While It's Hot!
  2. Where's the Money?
  3. That Ain't Right
  4. I Scare Myself
  5. I Don't Want Love
  6. Tangled Tales
  7. How Can I Miss You When You Won't Go Away?
  8. The Piano Has Been Drinkin'
  9. That's Where I Am
  10. Hey Bartender
  11. I Feel Like Singin'
  12. The Blues My Naughty Baby Gave to Me