Particle - Accelerator CD


Fasten your seatbelt and hold on tight. Particle is back firing on all cylinders with the release of their first studio recording in 14 years, Accelerator. During a years-long semi-hiatus, keyboardist/vocalist Steve Molitz remained busy with stints as keyboardist for Phil Lesh & Friends, Rich Robinson Band (Black Crowes) and guitarist Robby Krieger (The Doors), filling the venerable Ray Manzarek seat. In addition to his high-level touring, Molitz has scored over a dozen soundtracks, often including the members of Particle on the recordings, for some of today's hottest, multi-million-selling video games, including: Shaq Fu: A Legend Reborn, NBA Playgrounds and the upcoming World War Z. Particle is now charged to nearly light speed with nine new original compositions ready to blow the minds of their longtime fans and new ones alike.

Hailed as one of the pioneers of livetronica and an unstoppable musical force on the live music circuit, Particle is evidence of the euphoric transcending energy that emulates from a wildly synergistic band at their peak. Nearly a thousand live shows in their early years -- many of which are widely recognized as being among the most epic jam scene shows of the past 20 years (i.e. Six hour marathon continuous late night set, Bonnaroo 2003; "Also Sprach Zarathustra - 2001" featuring Phish's Trey Anastasio and GRAMMY Award-winning pianist Eumir Deodato, Hammerstein Ballroom 2005; "The Other One" with Phil Lesh, La Zona Rosa 2005) -- have readied Particle for this milestone moment and next chapter of releasing their much-anticipated follow-up studio effort to their highly influential debut album, Launchpad (produced by rock legend Tom Rothrock).

Accelerator is the consummation of a fiery rock band engulfed in a world of analog synths along with the latest digital production techniques. Initially captivating fans across the nation with inventive manipulations of exclusively live instruments, Particle in 2018 stays true to form while also incorporating cutting-edge music production software to add modern EDM layers and textural depth to their compositions. Accelerator exhibits a fierce quartet built to quash any preconceived notions of what this band is capable of with nine jaw-dropping performances. Upon hearing their latest works, fans will know that Particle is and remains the same uniquely compelling force that turned so many heads so quickly fourteen years ago.

Crisscrossing between the natural environs of Woodstock, NY, with engineer Chris Bittner at Applehead Recording (where lauded artists such as Rich Robinson, Band of Horses, and Coheed and Cambria have recorded), and the quaint town of Maplewood, NJ, at video game developer Saber Interactive, Particle evolved jams and demos into masterpieces. Virtuosic guitar performances by Mike Daum churned through amps cranked to 11 in the 30-foot ceiling barn at Applehead. Explosive drum and bass journeys were explored and captured by Kito Bovenschulte (drums) and Clay Parnell (bass) while the band lived together at the four-story multi-studio home at Saber Interactive for 'round the clock recording sessions. Molitz's signature keyboard parts boldly blast the nine compositions into a far-away galaxy, taking the listener on a blissed-out, space-funk quest.

Accelerator opens with "Wire," a high-energy, big riffs composition led by Molitz's classic Moog mojo. Bridging Launchpad-era sounds with the new incarnation of Particle is on full display with dynamic mid-tempo sections exploding into double bass drum, synth-laden crescendos. "Home Away From Home" takes its narrative from NASA's Kepler mission, which discovered the first Earth-size planet orbiting a star in the habitable zone. A sonic gateway to the multiverse, "Home Away From Home" shows the ultimate versatility of the power-quartet moving effortlessly between drum 'n' bass, beautiful piano work, jazz-inspired hits, and straight up funk.

For the first time on a studio album, Particle integrates on Accelerator tasty vocoder synth parts, reminiscent of French electronic duo Daft Punk, while blazing metalesque guitar parts soar ("All Night"). "Devil's Work" is an intergalactic anthem with infectious hooks and all-out stadium rock concert interludes. The title track, "Accelerator," kicks off with a field recording from inside the world's largest particle accelerator at CERN laboratory in Switzerland. A cinematic feast ensues with Particle laying down a hard groove on the 2s and 4s before climaxing into its pop-infused choruses. Accelerator proceeds with a slew of one-two punches with bangers "Heist," "Gustava," "Star City," and the finale "Bravo Delta" capping the album with a deep dive into heavy-hitting modern rock.

Over the course of the band's celebrated career, Particle has graced the stages of some of the most important music festivals (Coachella, Lollapalooza, Austin City Limits, Bonnaroo, etc.) and collaborated with a "who's who" of the jam world (including members of Phish, The Grateful Dead, Dave Matthews Band, and others). As a testament to its myriad of climatic landmarks, Particle thrives on the undeniable chemistry within the band. On Accelerator, Particle unapologetically ventures into unprecedented territory. Whether experiencing Accelerator with your eyes wide open or closed shut, Particle aims to take you on a sonic journey through the unknown, exploring both inner and outer space, blowing your mind along the way, then safely bringing you back down to earth feeling supercharged and electrified.

To see a comprehensive list of forthcoming Particle tour dates, please visit:


Track Listing:
1. Wire
2. All Night
3. Home Away From Home
4. Devil's Work
5. Accelerator
6. Heist
7. Gustava
8. Star City
9. Bravo Delta

Released in 2018