Cornmeal - Live in Chicago, IL CD

In the winter of 2000, a band stepped on stage for the first time and called themselves Cornmeal. For the next six years, Cornmeal performed each and every Wednesday in Chicago to small yet loyal crowds. Throughout the winters of 2007-2009, Cornmeal returned to Chicago to pay homage to that tradition. This album is for the fans as a thank you for all the years of dedication, for believing in Cornmeal, and for creating a wonderful community for them to come home to. The album was recorded live throughout the winter of 2009 at Martyrs' in Chicago, IL. Unlike Cornmeal's three previous albums, Live in Chicago, IL Vol. I captures the band in its raw, intense format, bouncing through song after song of fast paced, fierce originals and extensive improvised jams that showcase the immense talent and connectivity that have gained them so much fan appeal from coast to coast. Cornmeal is: Chris Gangi on upright bass, Dave Burlingame on Banjo, Allie Kral on fiddle, Kris Nowak on Acoustic Guitar, and John Paul Nowak on Drums.

Formed over 10 years ago, Cornmeal has grown from humble beginnings into a nationally recognized live music institution. 10 years together is no simple task these days, especially when the last five have seen the band spending over half the year on the road. Heavily influenced by American roots and folk music, Cornmeal blends lightning fast tempos and impeccable harmonies into an unrivaled live performance that continues to expand upon the five-piece acoustic-electric groups' vast musical repertoire. While steeped in the tradition of roots music, Cornmeal continues to forge their own path, pushing the boundaries of bluegrass, Americana and folk for a whole new generation of music lovers. With a rapidly growing fan base and ever-evolving stage show, Cornmeal challenges the recipe of the bluegrass sound and live performance, quickly propelling them into the national spotlight.

Track List:
1. Girl With the Short Brown Hair listen
2. Calling Me Back Home listen
3. Not at Home Anymore listen
4. Oh Leah Lee listen
5. Jenny in the Middle listen
6. Feather listen
7. The Road listen
8. When the Worlds Got You Down listen

Release date 03.02.2010