John McLaughlin - Liberation Time LP


As the world reels from the social, emotional, and spiritual toll of the ongoing viral-induced global lockdown, McLaughlin reflects on both the perils and potential of this challenging moment with "Liberation Time" -- his newest album, available July 16th on Abstract Logix/Mediastarz. In the fall of 2020, as the reality of pandemic limitations set in, McLaughlin commenced work on "Liberation Time" as a "direct response" (his words) to the mandated restrictions imposed by the spread of Covid-19. Characterized by both joy and reflection, "Liberation Time" finds McLaughlin harnessing his frustrations and redirecting that energy. "The result," he explains in a candid liner note, "was an explosion of music in my mind."

Unusual for McLaughlin's recent projects, "Liberation Time" is not the work of one fixed ensemble. With physical proximity no longer a prerequisite, McLaughlin drew upon decades of experience as a bandleader to select musicians best suited to each composition. "That is a choice that can only be made correctly if you know how the musicians play," he explains. "Not just how well they play technically, but how they play intuitively. Only then can you make the right decisions."

John McLaughlin (Guitar, Guitar synth, Piano); Roger Rossignol(Piano);Ranjit Barot (Drums, Konokol); Jean Michel. 'Kiki' Aublette (Drums,Bass); Vinnie Colaiuta (Drums); Nicolas Viccaro(Drums); Julian Siegel (Tenor Sax); Etienne MBappe(Bass); Gary Husband (Drums, Piano); Sam Burgess (Bass); Jerome Regard (Bass); Oz Ezzeldin (Piano)

1.  As the Spirit Sings 5:22
2. Singing Our Secrets 5:13
3. Lockdown Blues 7:19
4. Mila Repa 2:29
5. Right Here, Right Now, Right On 7:26
6. Shade of Blue 1:33
7. Liberation Time 7:57