Zappa Plays Zappa (2 DVDs)

In 2006, two Zappa Plays Zappa shows were pristinely filmed and recorded (in Portland, OR and Seattle, WA, respectively) to capture the experience. The result is this double-DVD set, produced by Pierre and Francois Lamoureux. The DVDs feature over three hours of performances of Dweezil's "rocking teenage combo," including appearances by 2006 tour guests Steve Vai, Napoleon Murphy Brock, and Terry Bozzio.

The Zappa Plays Zappa DVD collection brilliantly commemorates the critically-acclaimed 2006 concerts which presented a collection of Frank Zappa's rock-oriented compositions from the 1960s through the 1980s; Zappa Plays Zappa is a tour de force of rock guitar virtuosity and a guitarist's dream come true. Featuring Dweezil Zappa on lead guitar and the precision virtuoso guitarists/instrumentalists Terry Bozzio and Steve Vai, plus a dash of Frank Zappa's social commentary and wit, ZPZ is a document like no other available! Also featured are a mix of musicians who previously played with Frank Zappa including original Mothers of Invention member Napoleon Murphy Brock (sax, flute, vocals)! In addition, Frank Zappa himself performs posthumously via synchronized audio/video technology, including the solos in "Chunga's Revenge."

"It takes a certain snarky delivery of...material to make it work the way Frank did. He [Frank Zappa] was able to have that sarcasm in his delivery. Otherwise, it feels like a cheap imitation. Attitude is everything with this music!" Dweezil Zappa

Disc #1:
1. Andy [9:04]
2. Call Any Vegetable [7:21]
3. Tell Me You Love Me [3:45]
4. Florentine Pogen [12:51]
5. Cosmik Debris [6:26]
6. I'm the Slime [5:17]
7. Pound for a Brown [16:16]
8. Don't Eat the Yellow Snow [2:01]
9. St. Alfonzo's Pancake Breakfast [1:50]
10. Father O'Blivion [4:44]
11. Inca Roads [15:32]
12. Eat That Question [10:44]
13. I'm So Cute [3:33]
14. Tryin' to Grow a Chin [3:38]
15. Punky's Whips [11:13]

Disc #2:
1. Black Page #1 [2:11]
2. Black Page #2 [4:01]
3. Regyptian Strut [4:22]
4. Peaches en Regalia [3:15]
5. Montana [7:14]
6. Village of the Sun [3:16]
7. Echidna's Arf (Of You) [4:57]
8. Zomby Woof [7:13]
9. Black Napkins [4:14]
10. The Torture Never Stops [12:54]
11. Oh No [:00]
12. Son of Orange County [1:41]
13. Trouble Every Day [6:04]
14. Sofa [29:12]
16. Chapter 16 [:00]
15. Bonus Song: Cheepnis [4:03]

Released April 29, 2008

"Call Any Vegetable"