Topaz & Mudphonic - Music for Dorothy CD


The vast Blackland Prairie ends at The Balcones Fault line where the Texas Hill Country begins. The rugged hills are covered with ancient live oaks and scrappy junipers. Crystal clear springs bubble up from the limestone depths shocking the arid landscape. Topaz & Mudphonic were born here in Austin, TX, gathering inspiration from this sparse organic phenomenon. Their debut album, Music for Dorothy, was recorded in a barn on the banks of the Colorado River. Thus, the record is steeped in the soul of the humid southern air and soaked in the sediment of the underground aquifers with cicadas and frogs bleeding into the recording. Topaz & Mudphonic take their place alongside such funky, lowdown, southern-drenched fare like that of the North Mississippi Allstars, JJ Grey & Mofro and Maceo Parker. Take your shoes off, open the front door, turn up the volume and let the music do its thing.

1. Lonely mp3 sample
2. Dirty Water mp3 sample
3. Take Yer Clothes Off mp3 sample
4. Sunshine mp3 sample
5. Slippin' Back mp3 sample
6. Euclid Street mp3 sample
7. Twin Oaks mp3 sample
8. Fly With Me mp3 sample
9. Home
10. Yonder Funk
11. Brothers

Released August 26, 2008