Tommy Guerrero - From the Soil to the Soul CD

From The Soil To The Soul pulses with Tommy's distinctive organic, atmospheric sound, yet this time with aheavier resonance. Beasties-infused stripped down funk is layered with Americana, heavy psych, lo-fi fuzz andLatin rhythms, all with a breezy, laid-back San Francisco vibe. Recorded primarily in his home studio Guerrerowrote, arranged and played nearly all the instruments on the album, including bass, guitar, keyboards, percussionand kalimba. Renowned street artist Barry McGee, aka Twist, designed the cover art and Tommy called onfriends Lyrics Born, Curumin and Bing Ji Ling for guest vocals. Guerrero's resume reads like a dream: he was amember of the Bones Brigade skate team in the 80's, made movie appearances, co-founded Real Skateboards and40's Clothing, directed art for Krooked Skateboarding and is a prolific recording artist - from the "Fat JazzyGrooves" and "Another Late Night" compilations, to albums for Mo'Wax, Galaxia, Function 8, Quannum, Rush[Japan] and now his own venture Too Good.

What they say...

Tommy combines funk, Americana, lo-fi fuzz and latin rhythms with a classic laid-back San Francisco vibe.~

Another prime offering of dusty breaks and laidback guitar lines from San Franciscan Mo'Wax graduate Tommy Guerrero.From The Soil To The Soil features sweetly produced hip hop blues in the shape of 'The Under Dog' and Meters-style organand guitar rhythm tracks like 'War No More'. There really isn't anyone out there who sounds quite like Tommy Guerrero.~ Boomkat

Guerrero's most important musical gift is... the unabashed passion he demonstrates for his craft. Listening to the album,one feels that Guerrero's only goal was following his heart and putting together a collection of tracks that reflect the sunnysounds of his favorite music, his sport, and his city. His enthusiasm is infectious. From the Soil to the Soul is an album thatwill challenge hard-hearted critics, delight faithful fans, and offer great pleasure to anyone who loves music.~ Popmatters

There's a smooth West Coast vibe that runs through the entire album... but From the Soil to the Soul is also darker thananything Guerrero has made before, with heavy basslines that drive the songs along, funky and warm ... Guerrero hasbecome quite adept at layering all the various elements in his music without overwhelming it, allowing space.~ All Music Guide

Track List:
1. Hello Again listen
2. The Underdog listen
3. Badder Than Bullets listen
4. Tomorrow's Goodbye listen
5. No Guns More Glory listen
6. War No More listen
7. Salve listen
8. Mission Flats listen
9. 1966 listen
10. Don't Fake It listen
11. Just Ain't Me listen
12. Create and Destroy listen
13. Let Me In Let Me Out listen
14. Molotov Telegram listen

Re-Released in 2011