The Motet - Totem CD


Produced by Lettuce and Soulive guitarist Eric Krasno, Totem was written collectively by the seven members of the band.  The future of funk music is clear on Totem; each song is steeped in The Motet's signature style that slaps you in the face with sounds that are fresh and unique. 

Earlier this year, The Motet announced the addition of singer Lyle Divinsky, who fans the flames of this already hot band. "There was a month and a half between the time I joined the band and when we went into the studio," explains Divinsky. "I wound up writing the lyrics and melodies to four songs, and re-wrote the lyrics to two. It gave me and the band an opportunity to really connect musically. We're deeply proud of this album and it's very exciting to have this new material to push out as we begin this next phase of The Motet's journey."
The Motet began in 1998 in Denver, Colorado, where the band's then-rotating cast of musicians amassed an enthusiastic and loyal throng of hometown fans. Taking their infectious dance parties on the road about three years ago, the band has seen their national fan base has been growing exponentially ever since. Today, their shows sell out from coast to coast at such venues as Red Rock's Amphitheatre, Brooklyn Bowl, Chicago's Park West, The Independent in San Francisco, Tipitina's in New Orleans, Portland's Crystal Ballroom, and Variety Playhouse in Atlanta.  A favorite along the festival circuit, The Motet has performed at Electric Forest, Summer Camp, All Good Music Festival, High Sierra Music Festival, Bonnoroo, Peach Fest and many others. Be sure to catch them as they headline Red Rocks this summer on July 22nd with more dates confirmed below.
The Motet are Dave Watts (drums), Joey Porter (keyboards), Garrett Sayers (bass), Ryan Jalbert (guitar), Gabriel Mervine (trumpet), Garrett Sayers (bass), Lyle Divinsky (vocals), Drew Sayers (saxophone).

  1. The Truth listen
  2. Fool No More listen
  3. Know it Too Well listen
  4. Rippin' Herb listen
  5. Damn! listen
  6. Solar Plexus listen
  7. So High listen
  8. Cretan listen
  9. Danger listen
  10. Cloak and Dagger listen
  11. Back it Up listen
  12. Contraband listen