Squat - Gruelash CD

Squat is a three-piece jazz band based in the Athens/Atlanta area. The band formed while taking jazz improvisation classes under Steve Dancz at the University of Georgia in 1994. Originally a quartet, the current lineup includes Trey Wright on guitar and piano; Carl Lindberg on bass, percussion and vocals; and Tommy Somerville on piano, tenor saxophone, percussion, and vocals. Local musicians including percussionist Darren Stanley and trombonist/pianist Kevin Hyde often augment Squat's lineup. Musically, Squat is a mostly instrumental ensemble performing originals and standards inspired by a variety of styles including '60's era Blue Note, Bossa Nova, Afro-Cuban, blues, gospel, hip hop, and New Orleans second line.

Squat was voted best jazz band for four years in a row (1999-2002) in the Flagpole Athens Music Awards.

1- Garlic Juice mp3
2- Cider Pop mp3
3- Veggie Cuban mp3
4- Rickshaw mp3
5- Song For Karen mp3
6- Packing The Dough Boy mp3
7- Just Kinda Waitin' Round mp3
8- Song For Leila mp3
9- By My Side mp3
10- Chicken Skin mp3
11- Trance mp3

You May Also Like