Neil Young - Homegrown CD


The album was originally recorded between June 1974 and January 1975 as the follow-up to 1972's Harvest. While Homegrown was never released in full, five of the album's 12 songs --"Love Is A Rose", "Homegrown", "White Line", "Little Wing", and "Star Of Bethlehem"--were later released on other records. The remaining six songs, as well as the "Florida" spoken narration, have never before been released. The new single, "Try", is among the latter group.

Youns says: "I apologize. This album Homegrown should have been there for you a couple of years after Harvest. It's the sad side of a love affair. The damage done. The heartache. I just couldn't listen to it. I wanted to move on. So I kept it to myself, hidden away in the vault, on the shelf, in the back of my mind....but I should have shared it. It's actually beautiful. That's why I made it in the first place. Sometimes life hurts. You know what I mean. This is the one that got away. Recorded in analog in 1974 and early 1975 from the original master tapes and restored with love and care by John Hanlon.  Levon Helm is drumming on some tracks, Karl T Himmel on others, Emmylou Harris singing on one, Homegrown contains a narration, several acoustic solo songs never even published or heard until this release and some great songs played with a great band of my friends, including Ben Keith - steel and slide - Tim Drummond - bass and Stan Szelest - piano. Anyway, it's coming your way in 2020, the first release from our archive in the new decade. Come with us into 2020 as we bring the past."

01. Separate Ways
02. Try
03. Mexico
04. Love Is A Rose
05. Homegrown
06. Florida
07. Kansas
08. We Don't Smoke It No More
09. White Line
10. Vacancy
11. Little Wing
12. Star of Bethlehem

Release date 06.19.20