Miles Davis - The Lost Broadcast CD


Throughout 1969, Davis' touring band included Wayne Shorter, Chick Corea, Dave Holland, and Jack DeJohnette; as the group never completed a studio recording, it has been subsequently characterized as the 'lost quintet' by many critics. In 1970 this line-up, augmented at times by Keith Jarrett and Steve Grossman albeit often without Shorter, performed a number of shows and released a number of live albums recorded at the Fillmore venues - both East and West, in New York and San Francisco respectively - and one such famed gig is the April 10th performance from Frisco, when Davis and group were supporting The Grateful Dead.

First released in 1973 as Black Beauty, the album has gone on to gain a reputation as one of Davis' finest live records. The recording on this CD was made the night before Black Beauty was recorded, albeit at the same venue, with the same line-up (Davis, Corea, Grossman, Holland, De Johnette and Airto Moreira on percussion) and also as support to the Dead (and Stone the Crows). This April 9th gig however is different beast to that of its predecessor. A differing set-list and very sparse arrangements, absent the night before, make this previously unreleased recording very much a 'lost broadcast' and its first release here on CD will delight fans of Davis' mid period work.

Track Listing

  1. Directions
  2. Miles Runs The Voodoo Down
  3. This
  4. It's About That Time
  5. I Fall In Love Too Easily
  6. Sanctuary
  7. Spanish Key
  8. Bitches Brew/The Theme

Release Date: 03.11.16