Lynyrd Skynyrd - Super Jam 1978 at Studio One CD


Following the tragic Lynyrd Skynyrd plane crash in October 1977, chances of any sort of musical reunion of the surviving members looked slim. However, Charlie Daniels gave new hope to fans in January 1979, when he announced "Lynyrd Skynyrd is back!" from the stage at his 5th Annual Volunteer Jam at Nashville's Municipal Auditorium. In late 1978, in preparation for this tentative return to the stage, the surviving members of Skynyrd had begun rehearsing at Studio One in Doraville.

As time passed, word got round that the band were rehearsing at Studio One, and many of their long-time musician friends began to drop by to catch up & wish them well. This led to lengthy late night jam sessions with a revolving cast of musical well-wishers stopping off to join in, and helping the Skynyrd guys shake off the rust from their time away. These jams started sounding so good that it was decided to record events over a few of the sessions, the best of which were broadcast by local radio - the results, as can be heard in their entirety on this CD are nothing short of stunning. 

With commentary between songs by Gary Rossington, essentially telling the story of the sessions and detailing exactly who played on which songs and with quite superb sound quality throughout, this is quite possibly the most legendary yet little heard recording that members of Skynyrd were ever involved in. As bonus cuts on this CD we also include the aforementioned 'Call Me The Breeze' and the instrumental version of 'Free Bird' from January 1979 at Charlie Daniels' Volunteer Jam - and as an extra special bonus, the CD is completed with a lengthy 1976 interview that Ronnie Van Zandt gave to DJ Jim Ladd - probably the most candid and honest interview he ever gave.

Gary Rossington - Allen Collins - Artimus Pyle - Billy Powell - Dickey Betts (Allman Brothers Band) - Charlie Daniels - Jimmy Hall (Wet Willie) - Bonnie Bramlett - Robert Nix (Atlanta Rhythm Section) - The Outlaws - Lenny Le Blanc - Taz Digregorio (Charlie Daniels Band) - Mike Duke (Wet Willie) - Barry Bailey (Atlanta Rhythm Section)

Track Listing

  1. Jitter Bug
  2. Cocaine
  3. Reflections
  4. Southbound
  5. I Don't Want To Go Down There
  6. Anyway You Want It, That's the Way I Want It to Be
  7. Another Pretty Country Song
  8. Ain't That Loving You Baby
  9. Call Me the Breeze
  10. Call Me the Breeze (From The Volunteer Jam V - January 1979)
  11. Free Bird Instrumental (From the Volunteer Jam V - January 1979)
  12. Ronnie Van Zant Interview 1976