Jerry Garcia & John Kahn - Santa Cruz Blues: Catalyst Club Broadcast 1985 CD


Jerry Garcia and John Kahn first performed together in 1970 at free-form nights held at the San Francisco jazz club Keystone Korner, following which they then both appeared on Howard Wales' jazz-rock album Hooteroll? Thereafter, Kahn became Garcia's main musical partner outside of the Grateful Dead, and was involved in almost every solo venture that Jerry undertook. The recording featured on this CD comes from a delightful albeit dynamic show the pair gave when playing at the Catalyst Club in San Francisco, as a duo in the mid-1980s. Here they delivered a superb selection of Dead tunes, a couple of Dylan numbers, one or two traditional blues cuts and a gorgeous version - note for note perfect - of the sublime Elizabeth Cotton ragtime pickin' number, 'Oh Babe, It Ain't No Lie'.

Track Listing

  1. Deep Elem Blues
  2. Friend Of The Devil
  3. Little Sadie
  4. She Belongs To Me
  5. Jack-A-Roe
  6. Oh Babe, It Ain't No Lie
  7. When I Paint My Masterpiece
  8. Been All Around This World
  9. Run For The Roses
  10. Bird Song
  11. Gommorah
  12. Ripple

Release Date 06.09.17