Jefferson Airplane - Return To The Matrix-2/1/1968 Limited Edition (2CDs)


There are special shows in the lives of classic rock bands like Jefferson Airplane. With major billing in major events like Woodstock and other important venues, their triumphant return to an intimate setting like The Matrix would be one usually reserved for folklore in classic rock history. Jefferson Airplane’s Return To The Matrix - 2/1/68 shows a superstar band, with several gold Lp’s under their belt, performing to a small San Francisco audience where they all began their musical journey together. As these live recordings attest, Grace Slick, Paul Kantner, Marty Balin, Jorma Kaukonen, Jack Casady and Spencer Dryden had now become a headlining force in all things rock...and for quite a long run at that. The lucky audience witnessed stellar renditions of hit tracks like White Rabbit and Somebody To Love, as well as classic interpretations of contemporaries like Donovan’s Fat Angel and Freddie Neil’s The Other Side Of This Life.

Bootlegged for decades, Relayer Friday Music is honored to present another exciting installment in our Jefferson Airplane Original Masters Series with the ground breaking Return To The Matrix 2/1/1968. Consisting of rare performances, showcasing the newly crowned superstars in a light that many just read about, who will now have an impeccably mastered document to hear for all time. To enhance your Airplane listening pleasure, reissue producer Joe Reagoso arranged with his friend Herb Greene to offer some very rare first sitting photos of the band, which truly help make this an even more rewarding feast for the eye and the ear.


  1. Somebody to Love
  2. Young Girl Sunday Blues
  3. She Has Funny Cars
  4. Two Heads
  5. Martha
  6. It's No Secret
  7. Kansas City
  8. The Other Side Of This Life
  9. Today
  10. Won't You Try / Saturday Afternoon
  11. It's No Secret
  12. Bues From An Airplane


  1. Watch Her Ride
  2. Plastic Fantastic Lover
  3. White Rabbit
  4. 3/5 of a Mile in 10 Seconds
  5. Share A Little Joke
  6. Ice Cream Phoenix
  7. Fat Angel
  8. The Ballad of You and Me and Pooneil

Release Date 03.31.15