Jefferson Airplane - Nothing In Particular: The Lost 1968 Dutch Broadcast CD


In February 1968, Jefferson Airplane's manager Bill Graham was fired after Grace Slick delivered an "either he goes or I go" ultimatum. Bill Thompson took over as permanent manager and set about consolidating the group's financial security, establishing Icebag Corp. to oversee the band's publishing interests. In mid-1968, the group was photographed for a Life magazine story on "The New Rock", appearing on the cover of the 28th June edition. They undertook their first major tour of Europe in August and September 1968, playing alongside the The Doors in the Netherlands, England, Germany, and Sweden.

In a notorious incident at their concert in Amsterdam on 15th September, while the Airplane were performing 'Plastic Fantastic Lover', Doors singer Jim Morrison, under the influence of a combination of drugs that fans had given him, appeared on stage and began dancing "like a pinwheel". As the group played faster and faster, Morrison spun around wildly until he finally fell senseless on the stage at Marty Balin's feet. Morrison was unable to perform his set with the Doors and was hospitalized while keyboardist Ray Manzarek was forced to sing all the vocals. It was also during this tour that Slick and Morrison allegedly engaged in a brief sexual relationship, described in Slick's 1998 autobiography.

Jefferson Airplane's fourth LP, Crown of Creation (released in September 1968), was a commercial success, peaking at No. 6 on the album chart. The Airplane's appearance on The Smothers Brothers Comedy Hour in the fall of that year caused a minor stir when Grace Slick appeared in blackface (she claimed she simply wanted to wear all the makeup she saw in her dressing room) and raised her fist in the Black Panther Party's salute after singing 'Crown Of Creation'.

Track List:

  1. Won't You Try/Saturday Afternoon
  2. Rock Me Baby
  3. If You Feel Like China Breaking
  4. Crown Of Creation
  5. Today
  6. Somebody To Love
  7. Plastic Fantastic Lover
  8. Nothing In Particular Jam
  9. In Time
  10. The Ballad Of You & Me & Pooneil
  11. White Rabbit
  12. Somebody To Love
  13. Crown Of Creation

Release Date: 02.10.17