Dr. John - The Atco/Atlantic Singles 1968-1974 CD


Dr. John, or Mac Rebennack as known to friends and family, is universally celebrated as the living embodiment of the rich musical heritage exclusive to New Orleans. His very colorful musical career began in the 1950s when he wrote and played guitar on some of the greatest records to come out of the Crescent City, including recordings by Professor Longhair, Art Neville, Joe Tex and Frankie Ford. A notorious gun incident forced the artist to give up the guitar and concentrate on organ and piano. Further trouble at home sent Dr. John west in the 1960s, where he continued to be in demand as a session musician, playing on records by Sonny and Cher, Van Morrison and Aretha Franklin to name a few. He also launched his solo career, developing the charismatic persona of Dr. John The Night Tripper. Adorned with voodoo charms and regalia, a legend was born with his breakthrough 1968 album Gris-gris, which established his unique blend of voodoo mysticism, funk, rhythm & blues, psychedelic rock and Creole roots. Several of his many career highlights include the masterful album Sun, Moon and Herbs in 1971 which included cameos from Eric Clapton and Mick Jagger and 1973's In The Right Place, which contained the chart hits "Right Place Wrong Time" and "Such A Night."

Dr. John's biggest chart hits All A & B Sides from US and UK singles between 1968-1974 Liner Notes by Gene Sculatti

Dr. John has proven to be one of music's foremost generalists, a primary-care cat whose practice extends back some 60 years. His expertise encompasses rock 'n' roll, swamp pop, New Orleans, R&B, funk, jazz, and the Great American Songbook--and he's made worthy contributions to recordings by the Stones, B.B. King, Van Morrison, Frank Zappa, Buddy Guy & Junior Wells, Buffalo Springfield, Gregg Allman, and others. The awards (six Grammys and counting) and accolades long ago validated the quality of his output, but it's the range of what he's done that truly impresses. These Atco and Atlantic sides were clearly the right-place right-time recordings. They put Dr. John on the map and into the ears and minds of music enthusiasts the world over. --excerpt from liner notes by Gene Sculatti

Track Listing

  1. The Patriotic Flag Waver (Mono Long Version)
  2. Mama Roux
  3. Jump Sturdy
  4. I Walk On Gilded Splinters (Part I)
  5. I Walk On Gilded Splinters (Part II)
  6. Gris-Gris Gumbo Ya Ya
  7. Loop Garoo
  8. Wash Mama Wash
  9. Iko Iko
  10. Huey Smith Medley - "High Blood Pressure" "Don't You Just Know It" "Well I'll Be John Brown"
  11. Wang Dang Doodle
  12. Big Chief
  13. A Man Of Many Words - Buddy Guy with Dr John & Eric Clapton
  14. Right Place Wrong Time
  15. I Been Hoodood
  16. Such A Night
  17. Cold Cold Cold
  18. Life
  19. Let's Make A Better World
  20. Me - You = Loneliness
  21. (Everybody Wanna Get Rich) Rite Way
  22. Mos' Scocious

Release Date: 09.18.15