Doc Watson - Bottom Line Archive Series: 2002 (2CD)


These 2002 live recordings capture the guitar virtuoso on the heels of his sixth Grammy win (out of eight), showcasing his trademark wit, charm and prodigious musical gifts. Regarded as the father of modern day Bluegrass flat-picking, Doc Watson creates the easy intimacy of a back-porch performance as he walks his adoring audience through a musical history lesson encompassing "Shady Grove," "T for Texas," "Black Mountain Rag" and "Nights in White Satin." Recorded during Doc's two final Bottom Line engagements, captured just before, and shortly after, his 79th birthday. He had played the club over 30 times before. 

Track Listing:

Disc 1

  1. Shady Grove
  2. Dream of the Miner's Child
  3. Train Whistle Blues
  4. CC Rider
  5. Doc Tells Stories
  6. Workin' Man Blues
  7. South Coast
  8. Stand by Me
  9. Make Me a Pallet on Your Floor
  10. I Am a Pilgrim
  11. Nothing to It
  12. I'm a Stranger Here
  13. Florida Blues
  14. Intro: I'll Never See My Home Again
  15. I'll Never See My Home Again
  16. Stony Creek
  17. T for Texas
  18. Ready for the Times to Get Better
  19. Nights in White Satin
  20. Black Mountain Rag
  21. Bye Bye Blues

Disc 2

  1. Introduction
  2. Telephone Girl
  3. Hannah
  4. Freight Train
  5. Daybreak Blues
  6. Walk on Boy
  7. Summertime
  8. Black Mountain Rag
  9. Little Sadie
  10. Corrina, Corrina
  11. Eastbound Freight Train
  12. Eight More Miles to Louisville
  13. St. James Infirmary Blues
  14. Trouble in Mind
  15. In the Pines
  16. Movin' On
  17. Florida Blues
  18. You're Not a Drop in the Bucket
  19. Jimmie's Mean Mama Blues
  20. Kinfolk in Carolina
  21. I Got the Blues and I Can't Be Satisfied
  22. Alabama Jubilee