Amos Lee - Amos Lee CD

Though Amos Lee's music is frequently described as a fusion of folk and soul, such an equation fails to reflect the singular artistry of this impressive debut. Like labelmate Norah Jones (who guests on two cuts), the Philadelphia singer-songwriter recognizes the power of simplicity, distilling an emotional essence that cuts across categories. The opening "Seen It All Before" echoes Bob Dylan's "Knockin' on Heaven's Door," the stunning "Arms of a Woman" channels Otis Redding's "I've Got Dreams to Remember," "Give It Up" cuts a classic Bill Withers groove, "Black River" has the sound of an age-old spiritual, and the closing "All My Friends" follows Van Morrison into the mystic. Throughout the song cycle, the bare-bones arrangements behind Lee's vocal flutter reinforce an organic unity that transcends genre. For all of the debts he owes to the music of the 1960s and '70s, the results sound timeless rather than retro.

1. Keep It Loose, Keep It Tight 3:08 mp3 sample
2. Seen It All Before 4:15 mp3 sample
3. Arms Of a Woman 4:11 mp3 sample
4. Give It Up 2:38 mp3 sample
5. Dreamin' 2:54 mp3 sample
6. Soul Suckers 2:49 mp3 sample
7. Colors 2:40 mp3 sample
8. Bottom Of the Barrel 2:00 mp3 sample
9. Black River 3:31
10. Lies of a Lonely Friend 3:23
11. All My Friends 4:18

Released 2005