Abstract Logix Live: The New Universe Music Festival 2010 (2 CDs)

On November 20 and 21, 2010, maverick record label Abstract Logix hosted a series of spectacular performances, featuring an array of artists who handily defy genre categorization in favor of unbridled expression. The first New Universe Festival was a die-hard music lover's dream, defined by artists who seamlessly mingle compositional ingenuity and improvisational grace and fervor. This coming September, Abstract Logix will also release a 2 DVD set, featuring a generous selection of festival performances and bonus material (additional performances, interviews, and more), filmed in high-definition throughout the event.

Among the featured musicians were pioneering guitarist John McLaughlin and his current band the 4th Dimension with special guest, world music legend tabla maestro Zakir Hussain; Widespread Panic guitar hero Jimmy Herring with his electric band; Return to Forever Drummer Lenny White; the all-star quartet Human Element (keyboardist Scott Kinsey, bassist Matt Garrison, percussionist Arto Tuncboyaciyan; fearless guitarist and improviser Wayne Krantz appearing with the amazing Anthony Jackson on bass; visionary Indian composer and drummer Ranjit Barot; and emerging guitar visionary Alex Machacek.

''I feel honored to participate,'' says festival headliner John McLaughlin, while on tour promoting his Grammy-nominated album To the One. ''My life has been dedicated to my instrument and music, and I continue to devote myself to music in order to be worthy of such a privilege. You will hear the kind of complicity that exists between us all this is a very special element, and frankly essential for making good music.''

Jimmy Herring very succinctly put it, ''This is real music played by real people, happening in real time. We're up there listening and reacting to one another, and people genuinely respond to the risks we take. This is human music in a mechanized age.'

Track Listings


1. Alex Machacek/Neal Fountain/Jeff Sipe: Strafe (LISTEN TO AUDIO)
2. Alex Machacek/Neal Fountain/Jeff Sipe: Very Sad (LISTEN TO AUDIO)
3. Ranjit Barot/Bala Bhaskar: Vignesh Kirtanam (LISTEN TO AUDIO)
4. Ranjit Barot/Wayne Krantz/Scott Kinsey/Matt Garrison/Arto Tuncboyaciyan: Origin (LISTEN TO AUDIO)
5. Scott Kinsey/Matt Garrison/Arto Tuncboyaciyan/Ranjit Barot: Essaouira (LISTEN TO AUDIO)
6. Scott Kinsey/Matt Garrison/Arto Tuncboyaciyan/Ranjit Barot: Sometimes I (LISTEN TO AUDIO)
7. Jimmy Herring/Neal Fountain/Matt Slocum/Jeff Sipe: Rainbow (LISTEN TO AUDIO)
8. Jimmy Herring/Neal Fountain/Matt Slocum/Jeff Sipe: Gray Day (LISTEN TO AUDIO)
9. Jimmy Herring/Neal Fountain/Matt Slocum/Jeff Sipe: Within You Without You (LISTEN TO AUDIO)


10. Wayne Krantz/Anthony Jackson/Cliff Almond: Why (LISTEN TO AUDIO)
11. Lenny White/Jimmy Herring/Tom Guarna/Richie Goods/Vince Evans: Door #3 (LISTEN TO AUDIO)
12. Lenny White/Jimmy Herring/Tom Guarna/Richie Goods/Vince Evans: Gazelle (LISTEN TO AUDIO)
13. John McLaughlin/Etienne Mbappe/Gary Husband/Mark Mondesir: Recovery (LISTEN TO AUDIO)
14. John McLaughlin/Etienne Mbappe/Gary Husband/Mark Mondesir/Zakir Hussain: Mother Tongues (LISTEN TO AUDIO)

Release date 07.19.2011