The Motet announces fall tour dates

The acclaimed Colorado funk band releases Phase 1 announcement for their 2016 Fall Tour, including Halloween shows debuting “Mixtape 1979”

The Motet releases Phase 1 announcement for their 2016 Fall Tour. On tour in support of their brand new album release, Totem, The Motet will hit 30+ cities across the country through the end of the year, with additional dates still to be announced. Included in their Fall Tour plans is announcement of the band's famed Halloween Mixtape shows - this year a four night run with stops in Dallas, Houston, Austin, TX and in Asheville, NC debuting "Mixtape 1979." Before Fall Tour officially kicks off on October 6, find The Motet at upcoming festival plays including Peach Fest, Bumbershoot, Camp Barefoot, and others. The complete list of The Motet's currently announced dates is included below.
The Motet released their highly anticipated new album, Totem, on July 8, 2016. The band recently sat down to chat about the new record, which you can check out here.  The future of funk music is clear on Totem; each song is steeped in The Motet's signature style that slaps you in the face with sounds that are fresh and unique. Collectively written by the bands seven members, Totem was produced by Lettuce and Soulive guitarist Eric Krasno.
Praise for Totem is coming in strong as Sound & Silence magazine states, "The songs are melodic and steeped in sweaty dance grooves that are extremely entertaining and well-crafted...Totem is a solid record from start to finish, and one of the most assured and accomplished releases of 2016."   Marquee Magazine agrees, saying Totem "is a full-on continuation of the band's infectiously danceable funky sound."
Earlier this year, The Motet announced the addition of singer Lyle Divinsky, who fans the flames of this already hot band. "There was a month and a half between the time I joined the band and when we went into the studio," explains Divinsky. "I wound up writing the lyrics and melodies to four songs, and re-wrote the lyrics to two. It gave me and the band an opportunity to really connect musically. We're deeply proud of this album and it's very exciting to have this new material to push out as we begin this next phase of The Motet's journey."
The Motet are Dave Watts (drums), Joey Porter (keyboards), Garrett Sayers (bass), Ryan Jalbert (guitar), Gabriel Mervine (trumpet), Lyle Divinsky (vocals), Drew Sayers (saxophone).