Turkuaz - Digitonium CD


Turkuaz is a Brooklyn-based pop-rock nonet that is redefining funk with their "PowerFunk" sound. Their intricately arranged songs are built on thick grooves driven by a powerhouse rhythm section, interlaced with swirling guitar and synth lines. On top of this rock solid foundation, lyrical jabs and swells that serve as both subject matter and rhythmic reinforcement are delivered by four distinct vocalists, all framed by tight horn lines and punctuated with left hooks and right angles. Digitonium, Turkuaz's second national LP release, has more of a Peter Gabriel and Talking Heads feel and evokes the best of the 80's dance music. Upon close examination, the Dada-esque slurry of words and lyrical imagery reveals Digitonium to be a concept album at its core. Repeated phrases are intertwined throughout, and themes of empowerment and self-actualization, glimpsed in metaphors borrowed from Plato's cave, a dystopian technological future and the archetypal characters of the myths of Avalon are developed through various tracks. Supported by transitional interludes, these elements make Digitonium feel like the score to an animated film, at times.

Track Listing:

  1. Introduction 1:56
  2. Lift It Up 3:59
  3. Murder Face 6:02
  4. The Cup Runneth Over 0:21
  5. Nightswimming 4:39
  6. Bijou Drains the Birddog 7:00
  7. Percy Thrills the Moondog 3:57
  8. Fish Out of Water 1:07
  9. Doktor Jazz 3:50
  10. European Festivity Nightmare 4:37
  11. Home Again 1:32
  12. Overture 3:27
  13. Digital Love 4:23
  14. Nightswimming Pt. 2 1:22
  15. Barking Up The Wrong Tree 0:56
  16. Lika 3:26
  17. Outerlude 1:28
  18. The Generator 4:41
  19. Bird of Prey 0:52
  20. Zynth 5:03
  21. Digitonium 6:02
  22. The Time Has Come 0:39
  23. Bermuda 1:09
  24. King Computer 7:22