Tortoise - TNT CD

TNT....Tough-N-Tender! This limitless Chicago-based band comes out of their experimental shell somewhat on this 1998 release. Of course it is all instrumental, but this band seems perfectly content spreading their gospel of jazz-themed, electronically manipulated sound without banging you over the head with their message...which might be, "Come with us as we journey through a mystical maze of ambient, jazz, dub, dance, punk, and avant-garde!" Dark, psychedelic guitar, loungy vibes, and swirling samples make this one crazy trip!

Track List:

1. TNT
2. Swung From The Gutters
3. Ten-Day Interval
4. I Set My Face To The Hillside
5. The Equator
6. A Simple Way To Go Faster Than Light That Does Not Work
7. The Suspension Bridge At Iguazu Falls
8. Four-Day Interval
9. In Sarah, Mencken, Christ And Beethoven There Were Women And Men
10. Almost Always Is Nearly Enough
11. Jetty
12. Everglade