The SKYS - Small Dreams in an Elevator CD

Read the review of this CD on Home Grown

Former Green Lemon guitarist, Wayne Allen will finally unveil his new musical project with the debut full length album release from his new band, the SKYS, entitled "Small Dreams in an Elevator". Allen, who spent the better part of the last decade fronting the Midwest touring sensation, Green Lemon, has been hard at work recording the new album at Chillhouse Studios in Boston, MA. The album was co-produced by Will Bradford (of SeepeopleS & Freepeoples Frequency) and Will Holland, best known for his work with the Pixies and Dead Can Dance. Most importantly, Small Dreams in an Elevator represents a new evolution in Allen's songwriting and a refinement of the sound he has spent the last few years developing. With one foot in the door of traditional anthem-like rock melodies, and the other foot wildly kicking out into an entire universe of original sound-scaping and electronica, "the SKYS" is as revolutionary as it is utterly addictive! These are songs that are as much at home being played on a car stereo as they are being played in an arena.

Some of the stand-out tracks on the album include the jungle indie-garage concoction, "Turtles," and the hard house dance infused "Nice Place," which is a complete re-working of a Green Lemon favorite. In addition, the truly unforgettable "Heavy Eyes," is also the first single from the album and sure to be one of the biggest hits of the year. Allen's collaboration with Holland, Bradford, and with Freepeoples Frequency's beat creator, Brooke Binion is highly evident throughout the album. Each song is a true hybrid of heavy synthesizer laden layers, glitch driven beats, electronic pads and guitar rock and pop, much in the spirit of acts like Radiohead, the Flaming Lips, and Bright Eyes. What distinguishes "the SKYS" from its sonic-pop predecessors is Allen's distinct vocal delivery and his knack for anchoring melodies throughout the album, even as the sonic settings change from song to song. It is more than refreshing to hear an album that is meant to be listened to from beginning to end, especially in the modern single-track-iTunes world."

Allen's writing has evolved since bringing us songs such as the Relix Magazine JamOff Winner "Mess" and the heavily requested "Shoestring". This same talent is evident on "Small Dreams in an Elevator". With thought provoking lyrics and solid melodies, the songs favor a more concise and focused style of songwriting, and the results are splendid indeed!

Track List
1. Bad Guys listen
2. Heavy Eyes listen
3. Dirty Weather listen
4. Turtles listen
5. Driver listen
6. Animal listen
7. Slow listen
8. Different Faces listen

Release date 01.05.2010