Oneside - First, to Last CD

01. The Letter mp3 sample
02. Oh, Sun! mp3 sample
03. Lisa mp3 sample
04. Josephine mp3 sample
05. Got To Go mp3 sample
06. Our Song mp3 sample
07. Four Corners mp3 sample
08. Didn't Know 'Til Now mp3 sample
09. Out Of My Tree
10. Into The Night
11. Last Radio
12. All Over Now

Oneside is:
Ned deBary - Lead vocals; Guitar
Chris Hersch - Banjo
Jake Brooks - Drums and percussion
Grafton Pease - Bass; Vocals

Few "neo-traditionalists" have dared to stray too far from the "traditionalist" part of that equation. Fans of the genre tend to be fervently purist. Boston-based band Oneside, however, isn't afraid to risk biting the hand that feeds it. Oneside's debut album, "First, To Last", is full of structures, lyrics, and licks that are unabashedly plucked from the traditional American canon. Songs like "Lisa" and "Got To Go" would sound perfectly at home on a Nickel Creek or Alison Krauss album. But right from "First, To Last's" foot-stomping, bluesy opening track "The Letter," which combines elements of bluegrass, rock, jazz, and even reggae, it is apparent that Oneside isn't afraid to make departures from traditional styles. Other songs would fit right in on a Sufjan Stevens or even a Radiohead album. Yet all of the songs are deftly written and produced to create a coherent, if unique and slightly irreverent, sound. Other bands may play strictly in a conventional roots style but what sets Oneside apart is their willingness to take these traditional fundamentals and place them firmly in a modern context. If My Morning Jacket decided to cover Bill Monroe, chances are that it would come out sounding an awful lot like Oneside. And for music fans, that's a good thing.

Released Sept. 30 2008