MJ Project - MJ Project CD

The MJ Project is a jazz/funk/jam band made up of four musicians from the Philadelphia area. As described by Philadelphia Inquirer reporter Karl Stark, "The four -- with their ardent mix of jazz, funk and groove -- are poised to see if their harmonic convergence can turn them into a working band." MJ has created a tight groove and impeccable sound that proves it has become a band that works on many levels.

Although members of the MJ Project have been playing together since the seventh grade, the group spent most of its high school years practicing, listening to jam masters such as Phish and Medeski Martin and Wood, and performing at various school functions and coffee houses in the Philadelphia area. The band's varied sets, which ranged from 25-minute epic originals to jazz standards to classic Stevie Wonder tunes, helped MJ gain experience; the sound was clearly beginning to tighten. As a result of their constant desire to find new influences and ability to play together without any pressure, the members of MJ Project grew together at their own comfortable but rapid pace before they started college. The group now communicates so well that its music often sounds far advanced for such young musicians. The Project's sound is an intelligent and funky mix of experimental jazz, danceable grooves and spacey but melodic sounds.

1- Gangsta & Delicious mp3
2- ComeOutchoPockets mp3
3- Fox Knews Nothing mp3
4- Hot Dog Dog mp3
5- Dr. Slice mp3
6- Lemonade Stand Tycoon mp3
7- Chipper: The Anonymous Airman mp3
8- Roast Beef mp3

Released 2006