Mac & Juice - Step Into the Light CD

Read the review of Mac & Juice - Step Into the Light CD on Home Grown

Mac & Juice's self-released album, Step into the Light, is not just a collection of songs but rather a personal stamp on their original music that has developed organically over the years. Because of the many genres of music coming to life on this album, it is challenging to put them into any one category. While crafting songs is serious business for Mac & Juice, what follows are bright, tight, beautifully rocking stories that come to life through moonlit vocals, thoughtful lyrics, and their two guitars which seem to channel the stories as well. Among the eleven songs, "Willie Nelson Song" and "One Hundred Dollars" plug songwriting influences such as Waylon Jennings and Merle Haggard, while "Johnny Gene" and "I'm Going Home" give a nod to authentic bluegrass. "Phoenix" and "She Don't Wanna Be" are straight driving rock songs with moving hooks. "Today," "Remembered as the Best" and "Countryside" will make you want to drive with the top down. "The Most Beautiful Thing" unveils jazz notes that are reminiscent of Stevie Wonder, but with their signature virtuoso brand. "Piece of Mind" ebbs and flows over a groove laden low end that spills into a lick-heavy guitar solo where Mac & Juice unleash their tandem jams.

Track List:
1. Today listen
2. I'm Going Home listen
3. Piece of Mind listen
4. Countryside listen
5. Willie Nelson's Song listen
6. The Most Beautiful Thing listen
7. She (Don't Wanna Be) listen
8. Johnny Gene listen
9. Remembered As the Best listen
10. One Hundred Dollars listen
11. Phoenix listen

Released in 2012