Lubriphonic - The Gig is On CD

Read the review of this CD on Home Grown

Celebrating the release of their latest and greatest album to date, Chicago's Lubriphonic is set to grease ears, move hips and leave the audience reeling on the dance floor.With the help of New Orleans Ivan Neville on keys, The Gig is On perfectly showcases the broad range of sounds incorporated in the band's unique fusion of roots music with explosive rock n' roll and sensuous old-school dance music - part Rolling Stones, part Funkadelic and part Otis Redding.

Starting as the brainchild of guitarist Giles Corey and drummer Rick King, Lubriphonic is rounded out by five more of the finest funk, blues & rock musicians in Chicago (including a full horn section). On their own, the members of the band have either recorded or performed with such legendary artists Otis Rush, Buddy Guy, Koko Taylor and many more. They have fused their talents and experience as side-men in order to create an original project that is soulful, unique, and exciting.

Winning over crowds with their high energy performances, Lubriphonic has toured across the country, including two slots at The High Sierra Music Festival & two shows at The Telluride Blues & Brews Festival. The group has opened for acts as diverse as George Clinton, Maceo Parker, Derek Trucks, Karl Denson, Jon Popper Project, The New Mastersounds, The Greyboy Allstars, Buckwheat Zydeco and more.

Lubriphonic's prior two releases, Soul Solution and Lubriphonic Live, have been featured in Jambase, Hittin' The Note, and Relix Magazine, where the band was picked as an "On The Verge" artist.

Lubriphonic is:
Giles Corey - vocals & guitar | Richard King - drums | Pennal Johnson - bass |Garrick Patten - sax | Norman Palm - trombone | Andrew Toombs - keyboards

Track List
1. Rhino listen
2. Under The Line listen
3. No Blues listen
4. Pimp Limp** listen
5. Punk** listen
6. Speed Dial** listen
7. If There's A Hell Below(We're All Gonna Go)# ** listen
8. Coming Together listen
9. The Gig Is On listen
10. The Getaway listen
11. The Chicken is Worth More Alive Than Dead listen
12. Pay The Man listen
13. Dope Man listen
14. Whatever You Do Don't Stop listen
# By Curtis Mayfield with permission from Warner-Tamerlane Pub Corp.** With Special Guest Ivan Neville on keyboards All songs Lubricated World INC BMI

Released October 2010