Jimmy Landry - New Day CD

Dubbed a "master keyboard player" by Honest Tune magazine, Jimmy Landry grew up in Kinston, North Carolina where he studied classical piano and theory for four and a half years. He earned Superior Plus ratings from the Guild during this time, but classical music was not what he wanted to play. After a several year hiatus from piano, Landry purchased a keyboard while serving in the US Army. Upon receiving his Honorable Discharge, Landry attended Georgia Southern University where he completed his Bachelor's Degree. While at GSU, Landry played with his first band. This was the start of a brand new experience for him. A year later, he was playing with five different bands and doing solo shows as well.

After a move to Asheville, a master's degree at East Carolina University, a trip to Korea, then back to Asheville, Landry had joined up with some musicians from Atlanta and was on the road with them every weekend. After moving down to Atlanta, GA from Asheville, Sideways Jump was formed with bassist Ray Dombrowski (an instructor at the Atlanta Institute of Music), drummer Bellian Marshall (formerly of the Ohio Players) and guitarist Dave Redditt (former student at Berklee School of Music).

Presently, Landry is playing many shows with Sideways Jump, solo, and with many different friends. Sideways Jump focuses mainly on Landry's originals. Landry's solo shows feature some originals with a variety of covers ranging from piano greats like Bruce Hornsby, legends like Merle Haggard and Johnny Cash to rock influences such as Pink Floyd and Grateful Dead, while showcasing just about everything in between.

"Asheville, North Carolina's Jimmy Landry grooves with his piano as the main instrument on the scintillating disc, New Day. Working with legendary producer John Keane, Landry has recorded a focused, loose set of songs that are sure to have even the casual listener dancing around the room." Landry's pop sensibilities on "Fishin'" and "Coming Back to You" are enhanced by his backing ensemble of Jason "Lefty" Williams on guitar, Ray Dombrowski on bass and Steve Saunders on drums. Landry also utilizes Jeff Eckard, Joel Williams, Rachel Dobbs, and Chris Beem to flesh out "Company of My Tears" and "Just Another Friday." His laidback approach to keyboard improvisation has lured many to Landry's performances, and the infectious vibe permeates much of New Day. Keane recorded the project at his studios, tweaking the knobs to add luster to the album's polished studio sheen. Whether one is new to the Jimmy Landry experience, or a veteran of his ivories-based jam gumbo, with a spin on the stereo, New Day brings a big, warm smile to the face. New Day is out now." Bill Whiting, Honest Tune

"(Landry) is wonderfully funky, spanning the range from Dave Matthews type funk to Dave Brubeck-like jazz." Carol Mallett, Asheville Citizen-Times

Track list:
1 Baby Just Stopped By mp3
2 Coming Back to You mp3
3 Dead End Road mp3
4 Fishin' mp3
5 Just Another Friday mp3
6 New Day mp3
7 Sexy Waitress mp3
8 Company of My Tears mp3
9 Thru the Pain mp3
10 What Do I Have to Do? mp3

Released in 2008