Instruments of Peace - A Musical Compilation to benefit NC Peace Action

Instruments of Peace is a CD featuring the music of North Carolina-area artists, including Acoustic Vibration Appreciation Society, Big Block Dodge, Cabo Verde, Steve Davidowski, Eymarel, Green Light, Hip Bones, Bruce Hornsby, Klarcnova, Chuck Lichtenberger, Branford Marsalis, Tyler Ramsey, Ruby Slippers, and Jeff Sipe. Profits from the Instruments of Peace CD will go directly to North Carolina Peace Action ( Drummer/producer Robin Tolleson started Instruments of Peace in 2002 as a series of concerts in western North Carolina to raise money for refugees in Iraq and Darfur, as well as tsunami victims. The Instruments of Peace CD features tracks by many of the bands that performed at those concerts, as well as several very special guests. All of these artists were generous enough to donate their music to help raise money for North Carolina Peace Action.

1- Tyler Ramsey - "Along in the Sun" mp3
2- Klarcnova - "Kuiper Belt" mp3
3- Jeff Sipe - "Osiris" (featuring Derek Trucks, Kofi Burbridge, Jason Crosby, Paul Hanson, and more) mp3
4- Branford Marsalis Quartet - "Sir Roderick, The Aloof" mp3
5- Cabo Verde - "Gato Gris" mp3
6- Steve Davidowski - "Slavic Defrag" mp3
7- Chuck Lichtenberger - "4 Dollars and 4 Cents" mp3
8- Big Block Dodge - "Sweetgrass Serenade" mp3
9- Eymarel - "Stronger"
10- AVAS - "Mahavishnuing"
11- Hip Bones - "Country Chicken"
12- Green Light - "Keep the Faith"
13- Ruby Slippers - "Special Sauce"
14- Bruce Hornsby - "Song A"

About the Instruments of Peace Artists

AVAS, or Acoustic Vibration Appreciation Society, is one of Asheville, NC's most fearless newgrass acts, with banjoist Andy Pond, bassist Jay Sanders, flutist Gaines Post, fiddler Cailen Campbell, and Jason Krekel on mandolin. The track "Mahavishnuing," written by Krekel, earned a positive mention in the book Power,Passion and Beauty: The Story of the Legendary Mahavishnu Orchestra.

Big Block Dodge coined the term "groosion" to describe the special blend of southern fusion heard on their 2002 debut Manifold Destiny, a sound that earned BBD recognition in the Dean Budnick book, Jambands. "Sweetgrass Serenade" is a never-before-released track from the East Flat Rock, NC-based trio of guitarist Bill Altman, bassist Jeff Hinkle, and drummer Robin Tolleson.

Cabo Verde is a modern flamenco group led by guitarist Juan Benavides. Benavides, a native of Colombia, moved to Asheville, NC, in 2002 and his musical connections soon flowered in Cabo Verde, with Juan David Narvaez, Juan Luis Merced, Jim Kohn, Shayne Heather, and Robin Tolleson. The track "Gato Gris" is taken from a recording session the sextet did in 2005 with engineer Andy Bishop.

Steve Davidowski is a pianist/saxophonist based out of Marshall, NC. While living in Georgia in the 1970s, Davidowski was the original keyboard player in the southern fusion band The Dixie Dregs, and also performed and recorded with Vassar Clements and many others in Nashville. He is a student of jazz and is also developing a mountain music hybrid he calls Xenobilly. "Slavic Defrag" is a piano improvisation.

Eymarel is a young duo featuring multi-keyboardist Mary Frances and drummer Lee Allen, rapidly becoming one of the more popular acts on the jamband circuit. The duo met while music students at Appalachian State University in Boone, NC, and is now touring the country in support of their debut CD, Groovin' A Little Each Day. They have donated their instrumental track "Stronger" to Instruments of Peace.

Green Light is a Charlotte, NC-based instrumental trio that plays what has been called "premium groove music." This never-before-released version of "Keep The Faith" from guitarist Kevin Gill, bassist Dustin Hofsess, and drummer Adam Snow, was taken from the recordings that produced their latest CD, Live At The Kntting Factory. Homegrown Music Network calls the trio "foreboding but funky."

Hip Bones is a San Francisco-based instrumental funk trio that mixes in dub elements with live loops and samples. Featuring two North Carolina residents, Robin Tolleson and Dustin Hofsess, Hip Bones performed at the first Instruments of Peace concert in 2002. The track "Country Chicken" is written by San Francisco saxman Gary Schwantes and taken from Hip Bones' 2006 release, 4.

Bruce Hornsby is one of the great popular composers of our era, as well as a formidable pianist. While leading and composing for his own band, Hornsby has found time to collaborate with the likes of the Grateful Dead, Branford Marsalis, Bela Fleck, and recently, Ricky Skaggs. His solo composition "Song A" was originally released as a bonus track on the 1993 CD single of "Fields Of Gray," from Harbor Lights.

Klarcnova is a modern instrumental trio born in Memphis and based now in Asheville. Guitarist Andy John, bassist Shayne Heather, and drummer Robin Tolleson bring musical roots stretching from rock and jazz to klezmer and Afrobeat, and the Charleston City Paper compared them to "the Band of Gypsies doing a soundcheck with Scofield." The track "Kuiper Belt" is featured on Klarcnova's 2007 release on Groosion Records.

Chuck Lichtenberger is a native of Greensboro, North Carolina, and has been based in Asheville for nearly a decade. His indie-rock band, Stephanie's Id, has earned national attention with quality songwriting and incessant touring. The track "4 Dollars And 4 Cents," from his 2005 solo release, features a tight rhythm section anchored by bassist Mike Holstein and a horn section led by Aimee Sullivan.

Branford Marsalis is part of New Orleans music royalty, but for several years he has been living with his family in Durham, NC, leading his band and record company, Marsalis Music. His quartet is playing at a peak level. Branford's composition "Sir Roderick, The Aloof" is breathtakingly refined playing from Marsalis,. Joey Calderazzo, Eric Revis, and Jeff "Tain" Watts," taken from their 2006 release Braggtown..

Tyler Ramsey is one of Asheville, NC's most beloved and talented musicians. Six years ago he was keyboardist/composer in the Tyler Ramsey Trio, a funky acid jazz trio that lit up numerous regional stages. Now he's playing beautiful lap steel guitar, writing and singing simple, moving Americana. "Along In The Sun" is taken from Ramsey's independent 2004 release, with Ramsey on guitars and Brian Landrum on drums.

Ruby Slippers has been a vital part of Asheville's music scene since the release of their 2005 debut Living Room, about which The Indie wrote, "Craft and commerce don't usually mix, but then Ruby Slippers will redefine your musical paradigms." This is a never-before-released version of "Special Sauce" recorded live at the Grey Eagle, Asheville, NC. Molly Kummerle, vocals; Andy John, bass; Robin Tolleson, drums.

Jeff Sipe (Apt. Q-258) is one of the top drummers in the jam and progressive music worlds, with a resume that includes Aquarium Rescue Unit, Jazz Is Dead, Hellborg/Lane/Sipe, Phil Lesh, Herring, Rodgers & Sipe, Susan Tedeschi, Trey Anastasio and many others. The track "Osiris," composed by Paul Hanson, is taken from Sipe's 2004 release, Timeless, on Blues Planet Records. Sipe resides with his family in Brevard, North Carolina.