George Porter Jr & Runnin' Pardners - Can't Beat the Funk CD

Can't Beat the Funk revisits with a fresh modern groove 16 of Porters favorite Meters tracks that were recorded, but never really performed live. The Runnin' Pardners undeniable energy and driving funk make these songs their own.

A member of the original Meters, considered by many to be the founding fathers of funk, Porter has proven to be capable of the ultimate fusion of rock, funk and R&B. He has gained recognition as one of the industry's elite bass players and continues to be not only an in demand performing artist but an accomplished studio musician and producer.

Runnin' Pardners is George Porter Jr's own unique long term project. Well respected by audiences and promoters as a quintessential New Orleans band, the five piece touring band continues to receive accolades on the jam band and festival scene. George Porter Jr has assembled some seasoned and talented musicians to join him on this project. Familiar Pardners - Brint Anderson (guitar) and, Michael Lemmler (keyboards) and rising stars on the New Orleans music scene Khris Royal (saxophone) and Terrence Houston (drums). Excited about the future of this band and this CD, George Porter Jr. plans to keep a smile on his face. "I feel like I am working towards something that will be remembered."

Track List:
1. Go For Yourself listen
2. Yeah You're Right listen
3. Grass listen
4. Britches listen
5. Stay Away listen
6. 6V6 LA listen
7. The Mob listen
8. Liver Splash listen
9. Rigor Mortis listen
10. What Cha' Say listen
11. Ease Back listen
12. Same Ole Thing listen
13. Doin' The Dirt listen
14. I Need More Time listen

Release date 10.01.2011