Dolly Parton - The Grass Is Blue CD

This may be a full-out bluegrass venture, but tradition only tells half the story. The daring set includes barnstorming remakes of songs by Billy Joel and Blackfoot, two new Parton originals, and the old-as-time folk narrative "Silver Dagger," transformed--via Sam Bush's vertiginous mandolin picking and Jerry Douglas's frenzied Dobro work--into a mysterious, ambient epic. It's a testament to the force of Parton's voice and personality that while surrounded by top-tier players like Stuart Duncan (fiddle) and Bryan Sutton (guitar) she's still the undeniable leader. Her singing is masterful, absolutely vibrating with energy and soulfulness. Along with Steve Earle's The Mountain, this is the finest bluegrass release of 1999, and one of the most fully realized albums of Dolly Parton's career.

Track List:
1- Travelin' Prayer
2- Cash On The Barrelhead
3- A Few Old Memories
4- I'm Gonna Sleep With One Eye Open
5- Steady As the Rain
6- I Still Miss Someone
7- Endless Stream of Tears
8- Silver Dagger
9- Train, Train
10- I Wonder Where You Are Tonight
11- Will He Be Waiting For Me
12- The Grass IS Blue
13- I Am Ready

You May Also Like