Dangermuffin - Moonscapes CD

Read the review of this CD on Home Grown Music.net

Sit a moment with Dangermuffin's latest album, Moonscapes, and you'll hear tales of rogue lawmen, forlorn lovers, and rolling waves. Based in Folly Beach, SC, the eclectic trio casts a fresh perspective on American roots music.

With the release of Moonscapes this summer, Dangermuffin is poised for the next step in an already remarkable career. They've recently added the national support of booking agency New Frontier (The Avett Brothers, Darrell Scott) and distribution and promotion support from label Dualtone Music Group (Guy Clark, Brett Dennen). This summer finds them criss-crossing the U.S. with stops that include Virginia's FloydFest, Summer Camp Festival in Illinois, and two tours to Oregon and the west coast.

Setting Dangermuffin ahead of the pack are the refreshingly magnetic lyrics of Dan Lotti, winner of the Songwriters Hall of Fame's 2005 "New Writers Showcase." Lotti's strong, articulate vocals perfectly frame each song, creating a stout foundation for the tasteful poly-groove jams and improvisational passages. "The concepts of Moonscapes comes from when the tide goes out on the beach, leaving tidal pools that look like craters," says Lotti. "To me, that seemed like the notion of the sea of tranquility."

Dangermuffin's rhythmic anchor lies in the creative beats of Steven Sandifer (Drew Emmitt Band, Adrienne Young), embellished by the thrilling, twangy guitar stylings of Mike Sivilli. The result of their pooled talents is an inventive, fresh sound that retains an organic Americana truthfulness.

Last year, the band celebrated acclaim in Relix Magazine as the winners of the April 2009 "Jam Off" competition. Their fanbase grows exponentially with each new market and show, building off a strong southeast regional presence with appearances at festival's like Colorado's Jazz Aspen, opening for Xavier Rudd and Widespread Panic.

With two strong records already under their belt and a new flagship album ready for takeoff, 2010 will prove to be groundbreaking for Dangermuffin. Give Moonscapes a spin and experience the post-roots groove -- a punchy, folk-jam pastry for the sweet-toothed soul of the south.

Track Listing:
1. Moonscapes listen
2. Mystery Repeating listen
3. Gutter Dance listen
4. Big Suit listen
5. Walk Into the Wind listen
6. Fuego listen
7. Seafoam Tumbles listen
8. Ancient Wind listen
9. Stricken listen
10. Jezebel listen
11. Lawman listen
12. Coffin Island listen

You May Also Like