Allman Brothers Band - Manley Field House, Syracuse U 4.7.72 (2CD)


On April 7, 1972, the Allman Brothers Band was asked to perform at Manley Field House on the Syracuse University campus. The ensuing performance captured a period of change for the beloved ensemble following the tragic passing of bandleader Duane Allman. To mark the occasion, they have announced the release of the live show on CD and digital for the first time, due on January 12, 2024, via the Allman Brothers Band Recording Company.

While the April 7, 1972, concert has been widely circulated as a fan-favorite radio broadcast bootleg, the impending release, Manley Field House, Syracuse University, April 7, 1972,  is the first to include the complete show with the highest audio quality preserved from the direct source.

On display is the five-person band featuring Gregg Allman on vocals and keyboard, Dickey Betts on guitar, Berry Oakley on bass, and drummers Butch Trucks and Jaimoe. The 11-track collection features set staples from this period such as "Statesboro Blues," "In Memory of Elizabeth Reed," "Midnight Rider," and "Whipping Post," as well as "Ain't Wastin' Time No More" off their album Eat a Peach.

A highlight of the live show was the band's delivery of the "Syracuse Jam," included here for the first time and serving as an example of the one-time melody jamming the band was admired for. Notably, "Syracuse Jam" never appeared on any known Allman Brothers Band recording, making it a unique feature of this live show. 

Jeff Chard, SU concert coordinator in 1971-72, shared liner notes, including in the impending package. Reflecting on the experience, Chard offered, "This was the Five Man Band, as Brother Duane had passed just over five months prior. The quintet had pushed on, playing some 41 shows in 22 weeks. This night saw Gregg singing and playing his heart out, while Dickey Betts is doing phenomenal double duty on guitar, switching seamlessly between the necessary slide parts and his own soaring leads."

He continued, " But the real revelation of the night is that Berry is the glue, and the second lead player as well. His thunderous bass holds the quintet together - you'll hear it, and we could see it that night. Then there is the way Butch Trucks and Jaimoe lock in on the drums, the way the whole unit responds, five playing as one."

Disc One:

1.    Introduction

2.    Statesboro Blues

3.    Done Somebody Wrong

4.    Ain't Wastin' Time No More

5.    One Way Out

6.    Stormy Monday

7.    You Don't Love Me

Disc Two:

1.    In Memory Of Elizabeth Reed

2.    Midnight Rider

3.    Whipping Post

4.    Syracuse Jam

5.    Hot 'Lanta


Release date 01.12.2024