Bob Dylan - John Wesley Harding Vinyl LP


Personnel: Bob Dylan (vocals, guitar, harmonica, piano); Pete Drake (steel guitar); Charles McCoy (bass); Kenny Buttrey (drums).

Bob Dylan`s eighth album followed a lengthy hibernation due to a motorcycle accident in which the singer re-evaluated his art. He emerged with a set of stark simplicity and heartfelt intensity, melding folk, rock, and country with a mesmerizing power that set off a huge back-to-basics movement in rock that lasted well into the next decade. A biblical purity encompasses the collection as Dylan paints graphic portraits of the disenfranchised--hobo, immigrant, drifter, messenger--articulating the uncertainty of the times. The best-known song here is the apocalyptic `All Along the Watchtower,` which would soon be electrically redefined by Jimi Hendrix. The mood lifts on the final track `I`ll Be Your Baby Tonight,` a beautifully tender love song, suggesting that this is where salvation lies. John Wesley Harding repays repeated play with ever-unfolding metaphor and interpretation, including four hidden Beatles on the cover.

1. John Wesley Harding 2:59
2. As I Went Out One Morning 2:52
3. I Dreamed I Saw St. Augustine 3:55
4. All Along The Watchtower 2:33
5. The Ballad Of Frankie Lee And Judas Priest 5:36
6. Drifter's Escape 2:48
7. Dear Landlord 3:17
8. I Am A Lonesome Hobo 3:24
9. I Pity The Poor Immigrant 4:16
10. The Wicked Messenger 2:05
11. Down Along The Cove 2:24
12. I'll Be Your Baby Tonight 2:44

As most turntable owners know, Vinyl can be elusive. While we always try to get your items shipped as fast as possible, we may have to special order certain titles on vinyl, or they may take extra time to arrive. Please keep this in mind when ordering vinyl, and feel free to call us at 1-800-6-LEEWAY to check on the availability of an item.