Tom Petty - In the Coliseum: 1987 Radio Broadcast - Jacksonville FL CD


From a gig at the Florida Coliseum in Jacksonville during summer of 1987, this dynamic show finds Tom and the Heartbreakers (Mike Campbell on lead guitar, Benmont Tench on keyboards, Howie Epstein on bass and mandolin, and Stan Lynch on drums) on tour to promote the April '87 release 'Let Me Up ( I've Had Enough)'. This particular show however featured only one cut from the album, Runaway Trains, notably omitting the record's hit single Jammin' Me, a song composed by Petty and Campbell with Bob Dylan. The band were in playful mood however and performed a total of five rousing cover versions and a number of old favourites to compliment the one new song. Petty would neither tour nor record with the Heartbreakers again for another four years, in the meantime he became a founding member of the supergroup The Travelling Wilburys following which he recorded and released his first solo album before reuniting with the group in 1991.

Track Listing

  1. Bye Bye Johnny
  2. Breakdown
  3. King's Road
  4. The Waiting
  5. Don't Come Around Here No More
  6. For What It's Worth
  7. The Image of Me
  8. Here Comes My Girl
  9. Should I Stay or Should I Go
  10. You Can't Judge A Book By Its Cover
  11. Anyway You Want It
  12. Runaway Trains
  13. Refugee

Release Date: 02.12.16