Stevie Ray Vaughan - San Antonio Rose: Texas 1987 Broadcast CD


Classic 1987 Broadcast From Stevie Ray Vaughan In His Home State

Among the very finest guitarists to have ever played the blues, 1987 marked a period of redemption and revival for Stevie Ray Vaughan. Having spent a considerable part of '86 in rehab, in an effort to combat his alcohol and cocaine addictions, Vaughan emerged rejuvenated and ready to set the world alight once again with the Live Alive tour, backed by his regular group Double Trouble. Although initially uncertain whether he could maintain his high standard of playing while sober, the first few dates quelled his concerns, and the shows the group played across the next two years were considered to be some of Stevie Ray Vaughan and Double Trouble's best ever performances.

The tour began in late 1986, with the band going on to play more than 200 gigs across the United States, Canada and Europe before concluding on New Year's Eve 1988 in New York. The performance included on this disc is from the earliest part of the Live Alive tour, when the band played the Majestic Theatre in San Antonio, TX, on 1st February 1987. Still refreshed and enthusiastic about their future, the group play a scorching set packed with SRV classics while providing evidence that the exceptional talent of Stevie Ray was as potent - if not more so - when sober as it had been while under the influence.

Track List:

  1. Scuttle Buttin'
  2. Say What!
  3. Ain't Gone 'N' Give Up On Love
  4. Lookin' Out The Window
  5. Look At Little Sister
  6. Hide Away
  7. Willie The Wimp
  8. Dirty Pool
  9. Cold Shot
  10. Couldn't Stand The Weather
  11. Life Without You
  12. Love Struck Baby

Release Date: 02.10.17