Paul Simon - Complete Unplugged: New York Broadcast 1992 (2CD)


Following his majestic revival in the mid - late 1980s, Paul Simon's slowing of pace during the next decade can easily be forgiven. After the universal acclaim received for both Graceland in 1986 and The Rhythm Of The Saints in 1990 - notably with regard to the manner in which Simon blended Western popular music with African and South American styles - the singer-songwriter performed a staggering 116 shows in 1991. 

The climax of this tour had been his concert in Central Park on 15th August, which was attended by over 750,000 fans, making it one of the biggest audiences in music history. Rhythm would be Simon's last studio album for seven years, and he spent most of the decade working on The Capeman, a Broadway musical based on the life of Brooklyn gang member Salvador Agron, which eventually saw a release in 1998. Although he only played a handful of shows annually in the years following 1991, those Paul Simon did perform were of an exceptional standard. This two disc collection features one such concert, his Unplugged performance recorded for and broadcast by MTV, from Kaufman Astoria Studios in New York on 4th March 1992.

Track Listing
Disc 1:

  1. Born At The Right Time
  2. Me And Julio Down By The Schoolyard
  3. The Boy In The Bubble
  4. The Coast (Breakdown)
  5. The Coast
  6. Mrs. Robinson
  7. Bridge Over Troubled Water
  8. Graceland
  9. Jonah
  10. She Moves On
  11. Still Crazy After All These Years

Disc 2:

  1. Cecilia
  2. 50 Ways To Leave Your Lover
  3. Something So Right
  4. The Boxer
  5. Homeward Bound
  6. Scarborough Fair
  7. Born At The Right Time
  8. Me And Julio Down By The Schoolyard
  9. The Coast (False Start) 0:10
  10. The Coast (Encore)
  11. Jamming
  12. Late In The Evening