New Riders Of The Purple Sage - Live in Austin, TX 1975 (2 CDs)

Austin, Texas, 1975. The "Outlaw Country" movement was reaching its peak with weekly musical meetings of hippies and rednecks at the 1500 capacity Armadillo World Headquarters. Whether the charge was being led by local luminaries like Willie Nelson, Waylon Jennings and Freddie King, or by California country-rock imports like the New Riders of the Purple Sage and Commander Cody and his Lost Planet Airmen, the Armadillo's legend was becoming well known throughout the country. Before it was all said and done, the Armadillo hosted everyone from Bruce Springsteen, Jerry Garcia and Frank Zappa to Bill Monroe, Gram Parsons and Ray Charles. The New Riders of the Purple Sage had been making Austin a home away from home for a few years by the time this middle night of a three-night run of performances came about. Bassist Skip Battin, formerly of The Byrds, had been in the band for a full year now, contributing heavily to the Riders' 1974 album Brujo, and his unique playing style and energy are an essential element to the band's good time vibe that permeates this recording. 6/13/75 features crisp versions of "Lonesome L.A. Cowboy," "Henry," "Louisiana Lady" and "Glendale Train." The Austin atmosphere kicks into high gear as Battin sings his ode to the lone star state capital, "Austin, Texas," which jams right into Dawson's Austin inspired "Instant Armadillo Blues." Long before there ever was the term 'jam-band,' the New Riders strut some psychedelic stuff on fan favorites "Dirty Business" and "Portland Woman." Other highlights and rarities include a very early take on the Battin penned "Strangers On A Train," "My Dog Peaches," a never before released Dawson song, David Nelson singing Merle Haggard's "I'm Bringing Home Good News," Dawson going Tex-Mex on Freddy Fender's "Before The Next Teardrop Falls" and a very rare Riders performance of the Gary U.S. Bonds hit "New Orleans." The New Riders Live at the Armadillo was mastered directly off of the original 1/4 track reel to reel recording and captures this night just as it was--in all of its hot, sweaty, beer-soaked and smoke-filled glory.

Disc 11. i don't know you mp3
2. panama red mp3
3. lonesome l.a. cowboy mp3
4. austin, texas mp3
5. instant armadillo blues mp3
6. teardrops in my eyes mp3
7. dirty business mp3
8. henry mp3
9. sutter's mill mp3
10. dim lights, thick smoke and loud, loud music mp3
11. louisiana lady mp3
12. strangers on a train mp3
13. portland woman mp3

Disc Two:
1. i'm bringin' home good news
2. you angel you
3. she's no angel
4. my dog peaches
5. on the amazon
6. before the next teardrop falls
7. over and over
8. whiskey
9. crooked judge
10. i will never make you blue
11. new orleans
12. la bamba
13. glendale train
14. dead flowers
15. nadine