Home Grown! The Beginner's Guide to Understanding The Roots, Vol. 2 CD

The Roots are one of music's most impressive groups, continually pushing the edges of hip-hop for over a decade. Luckily, for those whose familiarity with the Philadelphia crew doesn't extend beyond watching them play with Jay-Z for his unforgettable Unplugged album or Eminem at the 2003 Grammys, Home Grown! The Beginners Guide To Understanding The Roots Volume Two will provide the sonic DNA for the illustrious group. Paired with Volume 1, the comprehensive collections showcase everything from popular hits to unreleased heat to hard-to-find remixes to live performances.

Of course, as evidenced by album titles like Phrenology and The Tipping Point, The Roots have always taken a very cerebral approach to making music. ?uestlove's musings on each song in the liner notes show just how much thought the group puts into their creative process. Each volume has a 20-page insert that is filled with behind-the-scenes insights that offer amazing glimpses into the group's experiences. Gems like their unbelievable tale of having to go through 11 different singers before finding someone to sing on "Break You Off" makes this as worthwhile a read as a listen.

1. Sacrifice (Live On BBC Radio One's Worldwide Show) mp3
2. No Alibi mp3
3. Essaywhuman?!!!!! (Organix Version) mp3
4. Break You Off (Dub/Sound Check At Bogart's Cincinnati, OH 2003) mp3
5. Quicksand Millennium mp3
6. Pass The Popcorn (Revisited) mp3
7. Don't Say Nuthin' (Remix) mp3
8. Adrenaline mp3
9. The Lesson Pt. 3 mp3
10. Y'all Know Who mp3
11. Thought@Work
12. BOOM!
13. The Seed/Melting Pot/Web (Live On BBC Radio One's Worldwide Show)
14. Din Da Da

Released Nov. 2005