Home Grown! The Beginner's Guide to Understanding The Roots, Vol. 1 CD

The Roots, while deserving of all the accolades you can imagine, have never been megastars. Luckily, for those whose familiarity with the Philadelphia crew doesn't extend beyond watching them play with Jay-Z for his unforgettable Unplugged album or Eminem at the 2003 Grammys, Home Grown! The Beginners Guide To Understanding The Roots Volume One will provide the sonic DNA for the illustrious group. When paired together, these comprehensive collections showcase everything from popular hits like the soulful "What They Do," to unreleased heat like "You Got Me" featuring Jill Scott, to hard-to-find remixes to live performances.

Of course, as evidenced by album titles like Phrenology and The Tipping Point, The Roots have always taken a very cerebral approach to making music. ?uestlove's musings on each song in the liner notes shows just how much thought the group puts into their creative process. Each volume has a 20-page insert that is filled with behind-the-scenes insights that offer amazing glimpses into the group's experiences. Gems like dealing with the controversy surrounding Eve and Jill Scott on "You Got Me" makes this as worthwhile a read as a listen.

1. No Hometro/Proceed 2 mp3
2. Distortion To Static (Black Thought Mix) mp3
3. What They Do mp3
4. The Next Movement mp3
5. Good Music mp3
6. The Lesson mp3
7. Star mp3
8. The Hypnotic mp3
9. Silent Treatment mp3
10. You Got Me mp3
11. Clones
12. What You Want
13. Act Too (Love Of My Life)
14. Do You Want More?!!!??!
15. It's Comin' (Live At The Trocadero, Illadelph December 1993)
16. Double Trouble

Released Nov. 2005