David Crosby & Grateful Dead - David & The Dorks: 1970 Matrix Broadcast CD


The Unique 1970 Broadcast From Crosby, Garcia, Weir And Lesh

1970 was an exciting time in the music world. David Crosby was riding high on the early success of Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young, with two wildly successful studio albums and a plethora of legendary performances at the likes of Woodstock and The Monterey Pop Festival under his belt. The Grateful Dead has just released arguably their two greatest albums, 'Workingman's Dead' and 'American Beauty', and were fast gaining a reputation as the best live act around. Towards the end of the year these two creative forces combined for a one-off concert at The Matrix in San Francisco. Billed under the curious moniker David & The Dorks, it would mark the only time that a band featuring David Crosby, Jerry Garcia, Phil Lesh and Mickey Hart would take to the stage together, and thankfully this broadcast recording still exists, enabling fans, even today, to enjoy a unique musical event. Performing a wide variety of material including tracks from Crosby's then upcoming solo debut 'If Only I Could Remember My Name', plus further cuts from across his catalogue, including many songs not at the time released on record, plus an inspiring version of the Dead classic 'Bertha', and a couple of blues traditionals, this superb CD is testament to the quite staggering talent and creativity of these top drawer musical giants.

Track Listing:

  1. Drop Down Mama
  2. Cowboy Movie
  3. Triad
  4. Triad
  5. The Wall Song
  6. Bertha
  7. Deep Elem Blues
  8. Motherless Children
  9. Laughing

Release Date: 12.09.16