Black Crowes - Live At The Greek: 1991 Radio Broadcast CD


Excellent broadcast recording of The Black Crowes live at LA's famous Greek Theatre, 1991.

This excellent broadcast recording preserves a great show performed by The Black Crowes at Los Angeles' famous Greek Theatre, in Griffith Park, during their first headlining US tour in the summer of 1991. The band were originally formed in Marietta, Georgia - just two years before - by brothers Rich (guitar) and Chris (vocals) Robinson. By the late 1980's the group had come to specialise in a rich seam of classic blues-rock in the tradition of prime English exponents like The Rolling Stones, The Faces and Free and home-grown acts such as The Allman Brothers, Little Feat and The Band.

At the time of this recording, the Crowes were still promoting their debut and it is heavily featured in this set, which includes live versions of eight of the album's eleven tracks. The band also pay tribute to one of their most influential forebears and fellow southerners, The Allman Brothers, by virtue of a cover of Gregg Allman's Dreams, a highlight of that band's 1969 debut album. The band also acknowledge their debt to other elder statesmen via the inclusion of The Beatles' Get Back and bluesmen Mississippi Fred McDowell's Walk With Jesus and Bukka White's Shake 'Em On Down in a lengthy medley. The remaining song in tonight's performance, You're Wrong, was never released by The Black Crowes as a studio recording and is really a different, early version of Sting Me, which was destined to appear on 1992's 'Southern Harmony' album and was also released as a single.

Track Listing

  1. Twice As Hard listen
  2. Thick N' Thin listen
  3. You're Wrong listen
  4. Stare It Cold listen
  5. Sister Luck listen
  6. Hard To Handle listen
  7. Could I've Been So Blind listen
  8. Shake 'Em On Down/Get Back/Walk With Jesus listen
  9. She Talks To Angels listen
  10. Dreams listen
  11. Jealous Again listen

Release Date 05.05.15